Second Round Deadline:

30 March 2020

Extended Deadline:

12 May 2020


One of the key features of EMA is the impressive range of high-level academics, experts and officials from a variety of institutions and organisations who teach in the programme, provide thesis supervision, and share with students their insights into human rights practice and challenges.

First Semester

About 70 academics from the participating universities and experts from international IGOs and NGOs contribute to the EMA teaching programme.

Second Semester

In their second semester destinations, students are supervised and supported by the EMA National Directors and other faculty members of the 41 participating universities. Here is the list of EMA Universities and Directors.

EMA and GC Management

Prof. Thérèse Murphy, EMA Chairperson since 2019

Dr. Wiebke Lamer, EMA Programme Director since 2020

Prof. Veronica Gomez, GC President since 2019

Prof. Manfred Nowak, GC Secretary General since 2016




Universities and National Programme Directors

  1. University of Vienna, Austria - Prof. Dr. Christina Binder
  2. University of Graz, Austria - Prof. Dr. Gerd Oberleitner
  3. KU Leuven, Belgium - Prof. Koen Lemmens
  4. Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB), Belgium - Prof. Guy Haarscher
  5. Sofia University St Kliment Ohridski, Bulgaria - Prof. Boriana Musseva
  6. University of Zagreb, Croatia - Prof. Josip Kregar
  7. University of Cyprus, Cyprus - Prof. Kalliope Agapiou-Josephides
  8. Masaryk University of Brno, Czech Republic - Prof. Jan Holzer
  9. University of Southern Denmark / Danish Institute for Human Rights, Denmark - Dr. Eva Maria Lassen
  10. Tartu University, Estonia - Prof. Lauri Malksoo
  11. Åbo Akademi University, Finland - Prof. Dr. Elina Pirjatanniemi
  12. University of Helsinki, Finland - Prof. Jan Klabbers
  13. Université de Strasbourg, France - Prof. Florence Benoît-Rohmer
  14. Université de Montpellier, France - Prof. Christophe Maubernard
  15. Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany - Prof. Dr. jur. Hans-Joachim Heintze
  16. University of Hamburg, Germany - Prof. Dr. Hans Giessmann
  17. Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece - Prof. Despoina Klavanidou
  18. Panteion University Athens, Greece - Prof. Maria-Daniella Marouda
  19. Eotvos Lorand University Budapest, Hungary - Prof. Orsolya Salát
  20. National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland - Prof. Raymond Murphy
  21. National University of Ireland, Dublin, Ireland - University College Dublin - Dr. Graham Finlay
  22. University of Padua, Italy - Prof. Paolo De Stefani
  23. Ca’ Foscari University of Venice, Italy - Prof. Adalberto Perulli
  24. University of Latvia, Latvia - Prof. Artūrs Kučs
  25. University of Vilnius, Lithuania - Prof. Dr. Tomas Davulis
  26. Université du Luxembourg, Luxembourg - Prof. Robert Alexander Harmsen
  27. University of Malta, Malta - Prof. Jan Refalo
  28. Maastricht University, the Netherlands - Dr. Andrea Broderick
  29. Utrecht University, the Netherlands - Prof. Dr. Antoine Buyse
  30. Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan / Poznan Human Rights Centre, Poland - Prof. Zdzisław Kędzia
  31. University of Coimbra, Portugal - Prof. Vital Moreira
  32. New University of Lisbon, Portugal - Prof. Maria Teresa Pizarro Beleza
  33. University of Bucharest, Romania - Prof. Radu Carp
  34. Comenius University, Bratislava, Slovakia - Assoc. Prof. Erik Lastic
  35. University of Ljubljana, Slovenia - Prof. Petra Roter
  36. University of Deust, Bilbao, Spain - Prof. Felipe Gómez
  37. University of Seville, Spain - Prof. Carmen Marquez Carrasco
  38. Lund University, Sweden - Dr. Karol Nowak
  39. Uppsala University, Sweden - Prof. Anna-Sara Lind
  40. University of Nottingham, United Kingdom - Prof. Jeffrey Kenner
  41. Queen’s University, Belfast, United Kingdom - Prof. Thérèse Murphy