Application deadline:

30 June 2020


Lecturers come from all over the world and are recognised experts in the fields of human rights and democratisation. They come from academia, the judiciary, government, international and non-governmental organisations.

Programme Manager

Martin Nsibirwa

Project Officer

John Wilson

Overall Academic Coordinator

Prof Frans Viljoen


Modules' Academic Coordinators

Module 1 - Academic Coordinator

Mr Tshepo Madlingozi

Mr Madlingozi is a graduate of the LLM programme (Class of 2001), is currently a lecturer in the Department of Legal History, Faculty of Law, University of Pretoria.

Module 2 - Academic Coordinator

Prof Frans Viljoen

Prof Viljoen is the Director of the Centre for Human Rights.

Module 3 - Academic Coordinator

Mr Magnus Killander

Mr Killander is a former tutor on the LLM programme, he is currently pursuing a doctoral degree.

Module 4 - Academic Coordinator

Prof Frans Viljoen

Prof Viljoen is the Director of the Centre for Human Rights.

Module 5 - Academic Coordinator

Dr David Bilchitz

Dr Bilchitz is the Director of the South African Institute for Advanced Constitutional, Public, Human Rights and International Law (SAIFAC), an institute based at the Constitutional Court in Johannesburg.

Module 6 - Academic Coordinator

Dr Cecile Aptel

Dr Aptel has worked with the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) and has considerable experience in the field of international humanitarian law.

Module 7 - Academic Coordinator

Prof Michelo Hansungule 

Prof Hansungule is a human rights professor at the Centre for Human Rights and has considerable experience in the field of human rights in Africa. This module is for students going to certain second semester institutions.

Lecturers on the programme have included:

  • Prof Gudmundur Alfredsson, Director, Raoul Wallenberg Institute, Sweden
  • Members of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights: Ibrahim Badawi, Emmanuel Dankwa, Bahame Nyanduga, Angela Melo and Barney Pityana
  • Judge Ruth Bader-Ginsberg, Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States of America
  • Mr Biong Deng, Regional representative of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, Pretoria
  • Prof John Dugard, Extraordinary Professor, University of Pretoria
  • Prof Cees Flinterman, member, United Nations Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women
  • Justice Richard Goldstone, former Prosecutor of the International Criminal Tribunals for Rwanda and Yugoslavia and former judge of the Constitutional Court of South Africa
  • Prof Shadrack Gutto, Director, Centre for African Renaissance Studies, University of South Africa
  • Judges of the Constitutional Court of South Africa: Johan Kriegler and Johann van der Westhuizen
  • Dr Edward Kwakwa, Legal Counsel, World Intellectual Property Organisation
  • Prof Tiyanjana Maluwa, former Legal Counsel of the African Union
  • Prof Vincent Nmehielle, Principal Defender, Special Court for Sierra Leone
  • Prof Joseph Oloka-Onyango, Faculty of Law, Makerere University
  • Dr David Padilla, former Assistant Executive Secretary, Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
  • Ms Mary Robinson, former High Commissioner, Office of the United Nations High Commission for Human Rights
  • Prof Martin Scheinin, United Nations Special Rapporteur on Terrorism
  • Prof Geraldine van Bueren, University of London

Read More


Programme tutors from Africa, Europe and Asia provide academic support and guidance to students during the first semester. Some of the tutors pursue doctoral studies simultaneously at the University of Pretoria, bringing different regional viewpoints to the issues of human rights and democratisation.

As personal tutors their main roles are:

  • To help students settle into university life and into the course.
  • To ensure that the student does not feel ‘lost’, and that s/he has someone to whom they can talk about personal problems.


As academic tutors:

  • hey present tutorials, in collaboration with lecturers, on assigned topics.
  • They assist students with assignments, by commenting on first drafts.
  • One of their main roles is to assist students with the formulation of a dissertation topic and proposal.
LLM tutors since the inception of the programme:

  • Bill Alexander (Australia)
  • Evarist Baimu (Tanzania)
  • Lilian Chenwi (Cameroon)
  • Solomon Ebobrah (Nigeria)
  • Idi Gaparayi (Rwanda)
  • Thokozani Kaime (Malawi)
  • Waruguru Kaguongo (Kenya)
  • Magnus Killander (Sweden)
  • Hye-Young Lim (South Korea)
  • Lirette Louw (South Africa)
  • Tarisai Mutangi (Zimbabwe)
  • Karin Ödquist (Sweden)
  • Mianko Ramaroson (Madagascar)
  • Gabriel Shumba (Zimbabwe)
  • Georg Sommeregger (Austria)
  • Morne van der Linde (South Africa)

Read More

HRDA Staff

Program Manager:

Dr. Ashwanee Budoo

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 6703

Fax: +27 (0) 86 580 5743

Program Coordinator :

Mr. Johannes Buabeng-Baidoo

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5214

Fax: +27 (0) 86 580 5743

Academic Coordinator:

Prof Magnus Killander

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5407

Fax: +27 (0) 86 580 5743

HRDA Tutors

Mr Tresor Makunya

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 3810

Fax: +27 (0) 86 580 5743

Ms Marystella Auma Simiyu

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5407

Fax: +27 (0) 86 580 5743

Ms Susan Mutambasere

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5407

Fax: +27 (0) 86 580 5743

Ms Mary Auma

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5407

Fax: +27 (0) 86 580 5743