Lorenzo Natali Media Prize Ceremony at the #EDD18

Launched in 1992, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize has been established with the purpose to award journalists for their exceptional work covering development. This initiative illustrates the EU’s commitment to support #mediafreedom and pluralism as well as development cooperation. The #NataliPrize enables the EU to acknowledge those who contribute to the fulfilment of the priorities stated in the Agenda for Change, putting forward the political heritage of former Commissioner Lorenzo Natali. For the 2018 edition, a special thematic prize is awarded for work focused on the elimination of violence against women and girls.


Our Press Office gives special attention to the incredible stories shared by many journalists around the world that are participating this year and it is attending the ceremony today that will reward outstanding reporting on issues such as poverty eradication, and the economic, social and environmental dimensions of sustainable development, as outlined in the new European Consensus for Development.


The Consensus is an ambitious vision for the EU institutions and Member States' development policy, which calls for better coordination and coherence in support of peace, the planet, people, prosperity and partnerships.


The prize has two categories based on age: 21 to 26 years old, and 27 years plus. For each category there will be a winner from each region: Africa, the Arab World and the Middle East, Asia and the Pacific, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Europe.


A "Grand Winner" is also selected among the regional winners, and an additional thematic prize is awarded for work focused on the elimination of violence against women and girls.


The winners of the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2018 are:

Africa Junior: Ridwan Karim Dini-Osman

Asia and the Pacific Junior: Parth Nikhil

Asia and the Pacific Senior: Chitrangada Choudhury

Europe Junior: Ahmer Khan

Europe Senior: Verena Toepper and Maria Feck

Arab World and the Middle East Junior: Andrew Mambondiyani


Thematic Prize “Elimination of Violence Against Women and Girls”: Achille Fatondji


Stefano Manservisi, EU Commission’s Director-General for International Cooperation and Development, awarded Verena Toepper and Maria Feck with the Grand Prize


The complete list of winners will be available at the page of the International Cooperation and Development Office of the EU Commission: www.ec.europa.eu/europeaid

freccia sinistra

Go back

Go back